The Marshall Theroux Memorial Award

The Marshall Theroux Memorial Award was founded in the name of the former Wheeling Township assessor, who was a leader in the development of assessment standards, practices, and education.

This award has been established to annually recognize a member of the Illinois assessment profession who demonstrates high ethical standards, professional achievement, and dedication to the service of others. The recipient of this award receives a scholarship from the CIAO organization and a recognition plaque from the Institute. Candidates are nominated by their peers. Award recipients are selected by the IPAI Board of Directors. Current IPAI Board Members and former recipients are not eligible to receive this award. The recipient will be announced at the Recognition Luncheon at the Annual Spring Conference. 

The recipient will be announced at the Recognition & Awards Luncheon at the 2019 Spring Conference.


Theroux Award nominations are closed for 2019. Check back at the end of the year for our 2020 nomination form.

Previous Marshall Theroux Award Recipients

2000—Theresia M. Yakes, Shields Township Assessor
2001—Joyce Skinner, Chief County Assessment Officer, Knox County
2002—James Harrison, Chief County Assessment Officer, Ogle County
2003—David Thompson, Chief County Assessment Officer, Kendall County
2004—Connie Carioselli, Elk Grove Village Township Assessor
2005—Sheridan Meadows, Mt. Vernon Township Assessor
2006 – Wendy Ryerson, Chief County Assessment Officer, Lee County
2007 – Jeff Simpson, Chief County Assessment Officer, Effingham County
2008 – Carol Perschke, Assessor, McHenry County
2009 – Brian Christie, Assessor, City of Champaign Township, Champaign County
2010 – Bradley Horton, Recorder, Peoria County
2011 – Rhonda Novak, Chief County Assessment Officer, Will County
2012 – Susie Carpentier, Assessor, South Rock Island Township
2013 – Lindi Kernan, Chief County Assessment Officer, Henry County
2014 – Karen Reese, Assessor, Newell Township
2015 – Duane C. Kiesewetter, Supervisor of Assessments, Livingston County
2016 - Patricia Elder, Chief County Assessment Officer, Boone County
2017 - Mark Becker, Chief County Assessment Officer, Hamilton County 
2018 - Mark Armstrong, Chief County Assessment Officer, Kane County

Fill out my online form.